Highlights of our cycle tours: ✓ Luggage transport from hotel to hotel ✓ (E-)Bikes ✓ Hotels incl. breakfast ✓ Travel documents, GPS tracks,...

Call Us
+ 49 (0) 3831 30676-0

Bike tours on the Altmühl bike path ☀️

Map of the Altmühl cycle path

The beauty of Bavaria

A delight for leisurely cyclists and lovers of cultural and historical sights. Along the Altmühl one encounters architectural styles such as baroque, renaissance, gothic and classicism. You cycle through idyllic valleys and nature reserves and also pass dramatic rock formations.


  • 166 km of well-developed and signposted cycle paths
  • one of the most popular bike paths in Germany
  • Franconian Jura, wide valleys, mighty rocky outcrops, juniper heath
  • Limes and Roman history, old castles and romantic towns
Discover Altmühl toursMore information about the cycle path

Exciting bike tours on the Altmühl cycle path

Discover the Altmühl cycle path

Where does the Altmühl cycle path start?

It turned out that the Altmühl cycle path begins in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The starting point of the cycle path is in front of the train station. The cycle path is partly signposted as Altmühl cycle path, Altmühl path or Altmühltal cycle path. The Altmühl cycle path ends in Kehlheim. The Altmühl bike tour takes you a little further along the Danube to Regensburg. Regensburg with its sights and the Danube Gorge near Kelheim form the final highlight of your Altmühl bike tour.

Which places or cities are on the Altmühl?

Colmberg, Herrieden, Gunzenhausen, Treuchtlingen, Eichstätt, Riedenburg and Kelheim.

Essing with wooden bridge over the Altmühl and Randeck Castle in Bavaria

Would you like to find out more about this trip?

Explore your cycle tour in the new catalog - conveniently without a computer. It's best to secure the new catalog for yourself today.

Get a free catalogue
Cycle tours and hiking catalog 2021

Highlights on the Altmühl cycle path

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is synonymous with a medieval town in Germany. Dive in
Beginning of your bike tour that starts from Rothenburg into this enchanted world of half-timbered houses,
City walls, city gates, battlements and old cobbled streets.
Did you know that the Rhaetian Limes ran along the Altmühltal near Gunzenhausen almost 2000 years ago
border of the Roman Empire towards Germania. Today you can visit the Unesco World Heritage Rhaetian
Visit Limes there.
In Treuchtlingen, the healing, mineral-rich Jura water bubbles to the surface. The local Altmühl Therme
offers the opportunity to strengthen your health and feel good in the recognized healing water
to let.
Already at the time of Charlemagne attempts were made to build a canal. In the Fossa Carolina, called Karlsgraben,
is today in an exhibition about the time of Charlemagne and his canal construction worth knowing
documented and shown.

Additional services included - for a relaxed Altmühltal bike tour

With our exclusive bike tours we offer you convenient additional services at no extra cost to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We take care of your physical, physical and mental well-being and ensure that you experience an unforgettable holiday.

Comfortable accommodation in the Altmühltal

Allhotels are clean and well-groomed and have one shower or bath. In all accommodation you will receive a rich breakfast. So you start the day well nourished and can look forward to your daily excursions.

All hotels offer a rich breakfast.
All hotels offer a rich breakfast.

Luggage transfer from hotel to hotel

So that you can travel freely throughout the day, we transport your luggage from hotel to hotel. So you don't have to worry and you can enjoy the fantastically beautiful nature of the Baltic Sea coast.

We transport your luggage from hotel to hotel every day.
We transport your luggage from hotel to hotel every day.

Individual bike tour in the Altmühltal

All bike tours are individual trips without a guide. So you have no stress and cycle the stages at your own pace. Take breaks according to your taste. This gives you the opportunity to stay longer in certain places and to stroll through the numerous towns. Enjoy your bike tour to the fullest!

Regensburg with the Danube and the cathedral and its stone bridge in the Upper Palatinate in Bavaria

Travel documents with tips for daily planning

In our extensive travel documents you will find detailed suggestions and tips for planning the day. Of course, you can also completely deviate from it and plan something of your own. The only important thing is that you arrive at your destination or your accommodation in the evening.

You will receive comprehensive travel documents for every trip booked.
You will receive comprehensive travel documents for every trip booked.

Rent bikes and on the spot in case of breakdown

Of course you have the possibility Bicycles and e-bikes can be rented from us for a fee. In the event of a flat tire or other complications, we are always happy to help and advise you. You can reach us via our service hotline + 49 (0) 3831 30676-0.

Flat tire with our borrowed bikes? We're here to help!
Flat tire with our borrowed bikes? We're here to help!

Our Altmühl tour

Day 1: Rothenburg ob Tauber

Individual arrival in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. On the first evening you can take a walk with the Rothenburg night watchman (incl.). Through dreamy alleys surrounded by a protective city wall, you step through one of the mighty city gates into another world.

Day 2: Rothenburg – Herrieden/Ansbach

Length: about 48-54 km

You cycle through the upper Altmühltal past Leutershausen, whose most famous son, Gustav Weißkopf, is commemorated by a museum and a monument. The medieval ambience can still be felt in Herrieden, the destination of your stage. Alternatively, the overnight stay takes place in Ansbach.

Day 3: Herrieden/Ansbach - Weißenburg/Treuchtlingen

Length: about 53-67 km

Passing Gunzenhausen you will reach Markt Berolzheim. You cycle either directly along the Altmühltal to Treuchtlingen to relax in the Altmühltal Therme or with a detour to Weißenburg, leaving the Altmühl shortly before Markt Berolzheim and driving directly to Weißenburg.

Day 4: Weißenburg/Treuchtlingen - Eichstätt

Length: about 53/43 km

The scenically most spectacular part of your bike tour begins in Treuchtlingen. The white gleaming dolomite rocks protrude imposingly from the wooded slopes and ridges. In Eichstätt, a tour of the Residenzplatz is worthwhile, or you can visit the cathedral of the bishopric and university town. 

Day 5: Eichstätt - Beilngries

Length: about 45 km

Today you have the opportunity to choose between a variety of sightseeing options such as the Gungoldinger Wacholderheide nature reserve or Hirschberg Castle. The destination of today's stage is Beilngries. The historic old town center with its town houses is surrounded by a well-preserved city wall.

Day 6: Beilngries - Kelheim

Length: about 53 km

After visiting the lock of the Rhine-Main-Danube Canal, you drive towards the 7-valley city of Dietfurt. You spend the night in Kehlheim, where you can visit the imposing Liberation Hall on the Michelsberg.

Day 7: Kelheim - Regensburg

Length: about 40 km

At Weltenburg you can experience the breakthrough of the Danube by ship (not included in the tour price). Now it is not far to your stage destination Regensburg. The medieval townscape with the Cathedral of St. Peter and the Stone Bridge as well as over 1.000 individual monuments await your discovery in the UNESCO World Heritage city.

Day 8: Departure from Regensburg

After breakfast departure on your own.

 

The map of the Altmühl cycle path

All bike tours in the Altmühltal
 

Regensburg with the Danube and the cathedral and its stone bridge in the Upper Palatinate in Bavaria
From €299

Short tour of the Altmühltal cycle path

Bizarre rock formations line the course of the river through a landscape of unique beauty. In the center of all this lies the "capital of the Altmühltal", Eichstätt. Artificially created biotopes and beautiful backwaters flank the canal. On the banks…

Duration
5 days
Length
about 140 km
travel code
ALT 02 CT

Logo: Our top cycle tour
The skyline of Regensburg in Germany
From €499

Bike tour through the Altmühltal

A delight for leisurely cyclists and lovers of cultural and historical sights. Along the Altmühl one encounters architectural styles such as baroque, renaissance, gothic and classicism. You cycle through idyllic valleys and nature reserves and pass…

Duration
8 days
Length
about 294 km
travel code
OLD 01

Logo: Our top cycle tour
From €609

Altmühltal - circular tour

On the Altmühltal cycle path without gradients on paved forest and field paths, small side roads with little traffic and mostly on fine gravel cycle paths. Cycle along the Main-Danube Canal on paved gravel paths. On the Franconian…

Duration
9 days
Length
approx. 340 - 360 km
travel code
OLD 03

From €439

Through the Altmühltal (sportive)

Experience idyllic landscapes on the Altmühltal cycle path, let a night watchman guide you through Rothenburg, enjoy the variety of a boat trip and finally reach the highlight of this trip: the art and…

Duration
7 days
Length
about 268 km
travel code
ALT 02 p

Undecided? Pre-order the current catalog now for free!

NEW: Catalog cycling & hiking 2023

Over 350 bike tours in impressive holiday regions are waiting to be discovered by you.

2022: Book carefree and travel with peace of mind

Find out more about why you can book your 2022 holiday with us safely and flexibly, despite the current situation.

30 Jahre Jubiläum | Highlights unserer Reisen: ✓ Gepäcktransport von Hotel zu Hotel ✓ (E-)Bikes ✓ Hotels inkl. Frühstück ✓ Reiseunterlagen,..

Telefon
+49 (0) 3831 30676-0

Radtouren am Altmühl Radweg ☀️

Karte des Altmühl Radwegs

Die Schönheit Bayerns

Eine Freude für gemütliche Radler und Liebhaber kulturhistorischer Sehenswürdigkeiten. Entlang der Altmühl begegnet man Baustilen wie Barock, Renaissance, Gotik und Klassizismus. Sie radeln durch idyllische Täler und Naturschutzgebiete und passieren auch dramatische Felsformationen.


  • 166 km gut ausgebauter und beschilderte Radwege
  • einer der beliebtesten Radwege Deutschlands
  • Fränkischer Jura, breite Täler, mächtige Felspartien, Wacholder Heide
  • Limes und Römische Geschichte, alte Burgen und romantische Städte
Altmühl-Touren entdeckenMehr Infos zum Radweg

Spannende Radtouren am Altmühl Radweg

Entdecken Sie den Altmühl Radweg

Wo beginnt der Altmühl Radweg?

Es hat sich so ergeben, dass der Altmühl Radweg in Rothenburg ob der Tauber beginnt. Vor dem Bahnhof ist der Startpunkt des Radwegs. Der Radweg wird teilweise als Altmühl-Radweg, Altmühl-Weg oder Altmühltal- Radweg ausgeschildert. Der Altmühl Radweg endet in Kehlheim. Die Altmühl Radtour führt sie noch ein Stück weiter entlang der Donau bis nach Regensburg. Regensburg mit seinen Sehenswürdigkeiten und der Donaudurchbruch bei Kelheim bilden den abschließend Höhepunkt ihrer Altmühl Radtour.

Welche Orte bzw. Städte liegen an der Altmühl?

Colmberg, Herrieden, Gunzenhausen, Treuchtlingen, Eichstätt, Riedenburg und Kelheim.

Essing mit Holzbrücke über die Altmühl und Burg Randeck in Bayern

Sie wollen noch mehr über diese Reise erfahren?

Erkunden Sie im neuen Katalog Ihre Radreise - ganz bequem ohne Computer. Sichern Sie sich am besten noch heute den neuen Katalog.

Gratis Katalog sichern
Radreisen und Wandern Katalog 2021

Highlights auf dem Altmühl Radweg

Rothenburg ob der Tauber, gilt als das Synonym einer mittelalterlichen Stadt in Deutschland. Tauchen sie zu
Beginn ihrer Radreise die ab Rothenburg startet ein in diese verzauberte Welt aus Fachwerkhäusern,
Stadtmauern, Stadttore, Zinnen und altem Kopfsteinpflaster Gässchen.
Wussten sie das am Altmühltal bei Gunzenhausen vor fast 2000 Jahren der rätische Limes verlief, der die
Grenze des Römischen Reiches zu Germanien hin bildete. Heute können sie das Unesco Welterbe Rätischer
Limes dort besuchen.
In Treuchtlingen sprudelt das heilsame mineralienreiche Jurawasser zu Tage. Die dortige Altmühl Therme
bietet Gelegenheit sich in dem anerkannten Heilwasser die Gesundheit zu stärken und es sich wohlgehen zu
lassen.
Schon zur Zeit Karls des Großen wurde versucht einen Kanal zu bauen. In der Fossa Carolina, Karlsgraben genannt,
wird heute in einer Ausstellung über die Zeit Karls des Großen und dessen Kanalbau Wissenswertes
dokumentiert und gezeigt.

Zusatzleistungen inklusive – für eine entspannte Altmühltal-Radtour

Mit unseren exklusiven Radtouren bieten wir Ihnen komfortable Zusatzleistungen ohne Mehrkosten an, um Ihren Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir kümmern uns um Ihr körperliches, leibliches und seelisches Wohl und sorgen so dafür, dass Sie einen unvergesslichen Urlaub erleben.

Komfortable Unterkünfte im Altmühltal

Alle Hotels sind sauber sowie gepflegt und verfügen über eine Dusche oder Bad. In allen Unterkünften erhalten Sie ein reichhaltiges Frühstück. Damit starten Sie gut genährt in den Tag und können sich auf Ihre täglichen Ausflüge freuen.

Bei allen Hotels erhalten Sie ein reichhaltiges Frühstück.
Bei allen Hotels erhalten Sie ein reichhaltiges Frühstück.

Gepäcktransport von Hotel zu Hotel

Damit Sie den ganzen Tag über freie Fahrt haben, transportieren wir Ihr Gepäck von Hotel zu Hotel. So brauchen Sie sich keine Gedanken zu machen und genießen die traumhaft schöne Natur in aller Leichtigkeit.

Wir transportieren Ihr Gepäck jeden Tag von Hotel zu Hotel.
Wir transportieren Ihr Gepäck jeden Tag von Hotel zu Hotel.

Individuelle Radreise im Altmühltal

Alle Fahrradtouren sind individuelle Reisen ohne Reiseführer. Somit haben Sie keinen Stress und radeln die Etappen in Ihrem eigenen Tempo. Pausen legen Sie ganz nach Ihrem Gusto ein. Somit haben Sie die Möglichkeit, länger an bestimmten Orten zu verweilen und durch die zahlreichen Ortschaften zu bummeln. Genießen Sie Ihre Radtour in vollen Zügen!

Regensburg mit der Donau und dem Dom und seiner Steinernen Brücke in der Oberpfalz in Bayern

Reiseunterlagen mit Tipps zur Tagesplanung

In unseren umfangreichen Reiseunterlagen finden Sie detaillierte Vorschläge und Tipps für die Tagesplanung. Selbstverständlich können Sie auch komplett davon abweichen und etwas Eigenes planen. Wichtig ist nur, dass Sie abends am Zielort beziehungsweise in Ihrer Unterkunft ankommen.

Sie erhalten umfangreiche Reiseunterlagen zu jeder gebuchten Reise.
Sie erhalten umfangreiche Reiseunterlagen zu jeder gebuchten Reise.

Fahrräder leihen und bei Panne zur Stelle

Selbstverständlich haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Fahrräder und E-Bikes bei uns entgeltlich zu mieten. Im Falle einer Reifenpanne oder anderer Komplikationen stehen wir Ihnen jederzeit gerne mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Sie erreichen uns über unsere Servicehotline +49 (0) 3831 30676-0.

Reifenpanne mit unseren geliehen Fahrrädern? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!
Reifenpanne mit unseren geliehen Fahrrädern? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Unsere Altmühl-Tour

Altmühltal Entfernungstabelle

Infos zur Karte

1. Tag: Rothenburg o.d. Tauber

Individuelle Anreise nach Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Am ersten Abend können Sie einen Spaziergang mit dem Rothenburger Nachtwächter (inkl.) unternehmen. Durch verträumte Gässchen von einer schützenden Stadtmauer umgeben durchschreiten Sie durch eines der mächtigen Stadttore hinein in eine andere Welt.

2. Tag: Rothenburg – Herrieden/Ansbach

Länge: ca. 48-54 km

Durch das obere Altmühltal radeln Sie vorbei an Leutershausen, an dessen berühmtesten Sohn Gustav Weißkopf, ein Museum und ein Denkmal erinnern. In Ihrem Etappenziel Herrieden ist das mittelalterliche Ambiente noch spürbar. Alternativ findet die Übernachtung in Ansbach statt.

3. Tag: Herrieden/Ansbach - Weißenburg/Treuchtlingen

Länge: ca. 53-67 km

Vorbei an Gunzenhausen erreichen Sie Markt Berolzheim. Sie radeln entweder direkt entlang der Altmühltal nach Treuchtlingen, um in der Altmühltal Therme zu relaxen oder mit einem Abstecher nach Weißenburg, wobei Sie kurz vor Markt Berolzheim die Altmühl verlassen und direkt nach Weißenburg fahren.

4. Tag: Weißenburg/Treuchtlingen - Eichstätt

Länge: ca. 53/43 km

Ab Treuchtlingen beginnt der landschaftlich spektakulärste Teil Ihrer Radtour. Imposant ragen die weiß glänzenden Dolomitfelsen aus den bewaldeten Hängen und Bergrücken heraus. In Eichstätt lohnt sich ein Rundgang über den Residenzplatz oder Sie besichtigen den Dom der Bischofs- und Universitätsstadt. 

5. Tag: Eichstätt – Beilngries

Länge: ca. 45 km

Heute haben Sie Gelegenheit, zwischen einer Vielzahl von Besichtigungsmöglichkeiten wie z.B. dem Naturschutzgebiet der Gungoldinger Wacholderheide oder dem Schloss Hirschberg. Ziel Ihrer heutigen Etappe ist Beilngries. Der historische Altstadtkern mit seinen Bürgerhäusern ist von einer gut erhaltenen Stadtmauer umgeben.

6. Tag: Beilngries – Kelheim

Länge: ca. 53 km

Nach Besichtigung der Schleuse des Rhein-Main-Donau-Kanals fahren Sie auf die 7-Täler-Stadt Dietfurt zu. Sie nächtigen in Kehlheim, wo Sie auf dem Michelsberg die imposante Befreiungshalle besichtigen können.

7. Tag: Kelheim – Regensburg

Länge: ca. 40 km

Bei Weltenburg können Sie den Donaudurchbruch per Schiff (nicht im Reisepreis inkl.) erleben. Nun ist es nicht mehr weit zu Ihrem Etappenziel Regensburg. Das mittelalterliche Stadtbild mit dem Dom St. Peter und der Steinernen Brücke sowie über 1.000 Einzeldenkmäler warten in der UNESCO-Welterbestadt auf Ihre Entdeckung.

8. Tag: Abreise Regensburg

Nach dem Frühstück Abreise in eigener Regie.

 

Die Karte des Altmühl Radweges

Alle Radtouren am Altmühltal
 

Regensburg mit der Donau und dem Dom und seiner Steinernen Brücke in der Oberpfalz in Bayern
Ab 359 €

Kurztour Altmühltal-Radweg

Bizarre Felspartien säumen den Flusslauf durch eine Landschaft von einzigartiger Schönheit. Im Zentrum all dessen liegt die „Hauptstadt des Altmühltals“, Eichstätt. Künstlich angelegte Biotope und schöne Altwässer flankieren den Kanal. An den Ufern…

Dauer
5 Tage
Länge
ca. 140 km
Reisecode
ALT 02 KT
4,0 / 5 Sternen

Logo: Unsere Top Radreise
Die Skyline von Regensburg in Deutschland
Ab 599 €

Radtour durch das Altmühltal

Auf Ihrer Fahrradtour von der fränkischen Alb bis zur Donau durchzieht die Altmühl fantastische Landstriche. Bei diesem Radurlaub bestimmen weiträumige Wald- und Wiesenlandschaften die Eigenart des Oberlaufs. Im Naturpark Altmühltal prägen enge Täler…

Dauer
8 Tage
Länge
ca. 270 - 300 km
Reisecode
ALT 01
4,7 / 5 Sternen

Logo: Unsere Top Radreise
Altstadt Fotoaufnahme vom Siebersturm Ploenlein in der Stadt Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Ab 659 €

Altmühltal - Rundtour (Sportiv)

Streckencharakteristik Auf dem Altmühltal-Radweg ohne Steigungen auf befestigten Wald- und Feldwegen, kleinen verkehrsarmen Nebenstraßen sowie meist auf fein gekiesten Radwegen. Entlang des Main-Donau-Kanals radeln Sie auf befestigten Schotterwegen.…

Dauer
8 Tage
Länge
ca. 350 km
Reisecode
ALT 04 S

Regensburg mit der Donau und dem Dom und seiner Steinernen Brücke in der Oberpfalz in Bayern
Ab 659 €

Altmühltal Vier-Täler Radweg

Die Altmühl durchzieht fantastische Landstriche. Bei diesem Radurlaub bestimmen weiträumige Wald- und Wiesenlandschaften die Eigenart des Oberlaufs. Im Naturpark Altmühltal prägen enge Täler und bizarre Felspartien das Landschaftsbild.…

Dauer
8 Tage
Länge
ca. 410 - 430 km
Reisecode
ALT 05

Ab 729 €

Altmühltal - Rundtour

Auf dem Altmühltal-Radweg ohne Steigungen auf befestigten Wald- und Feldwegen, kleinen verkehrsarmen Nebenstraßen sowie meist auf fein gekiesten Radwegen. Entlang des Main- Donau-Kanals radeln Sie auf befestigten Schotterwegen. Auf dem Fränkischen…

Dauer
9 Tage
Länge
ca. 350 km
Reisecode
ALT 03

Ab 529 €

Durch das Altmühltal (Sportiv)

Erleben Sie auf dem Altmühltal-Radweg idyllische Landschaften, lassen Sie sich von einem Nachtwächter durch Rothenburg führen, genießen Sie die Abwechslung einer Schifffahrt und erreichen Sie schließlich den Höhepunkt dieser Reise: die Kunst- und…

Dauer
7 Tage
Länge
ca. 270 - 300 km
Reisecode
ALT 02 S

Unentschlossen? Jetzt aktuellen Katalog kostenfrei bestellen!

NEU: Katalog Radreisen & Wandern 2023

Über 350 Radreisen in beeindruckenden Urlaubsregionen warten darauf von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden.

2023: Sorglos buchen und beruhigt reisen

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber warum Sie Ihren Urlaub 2023 bei uns sicher und flexibel buchen können, trotz der aktuellen Situation.